Tags

, , , ,

Ta-da! This nifty hat and cowl set were my first foray into crocheting for real. Mousie is cute and all, and I learned tons from making her — but these two projects really required time and attention.

I wanted to make something I would actually wear. The cowl appealed to me because I was never able to master knitting in the round. One of the reasons I love crochet is because round stuff is easy!

I made the cowl first using one whole skein of Patons Classic Wool. I love the texture added by using front-post double crochet (fpdc). Sascha Loves to Knit created the pattern. The blog is in Dutch, but there is a link to the pattern in English from Ravelry. Mine isn’t as bulky as hers, but it came out nicely.

The hat, “Durango + Robin’s Egg Blue,” is courtesy of Simple Beans. She artfully combined a crochet pattern with her own ribbing pattern to copy a knit hat she wanted to crochet. I’m so happy she did. I love my new hat and have been wearing it during this unusually snowy winter.

